Cheese, Onion and Cauliflower

Who would have thought that those three would be absolutely scrumptious all mixed together in a tart?  Well, let me tell you, separate they are yum, but together, oh together they are mouth watering delicious.

I found this recipe a few weeks ago and had been meaning to add it to my meal list.  The one thing that was keeping me from making it was that fancy word in the recipe Gruyere.  No offense to cheese snobs, but it’s not everyday that I spend $20 on a little hunk of cheesy goodness.  Especially since in the same week I was planning to make this delicious dish, I was also making that previously posted lasagna.  This was going to be one hefty grocery bill thanks to expensive dairy. 

So I did a bad thing and bought a nice hunk of swiss instead.  Bad I know, but sometimes, a girl just has to substitute .  Plus, I still spent over $25 on cheese this week… Without keeping you hanging any further…here is the recipe for this delightful dish.

1 head of cauliflower cut into florets

1 large onion, thinly sliced

2.5 tbsp olive oil

1 refrigerated pie crust….***

2 eggs

1 tbsp dijon mustard

1 container marscapone cheese

1/2 whipping cream

1/4 tsp ground white pepper

pinch of nutmeg

1 cup grated Gruyere…or Swiss

Grated parmesan for top…or leftover pecorino romano

This recipe also called for Truffle oil.  Something that I don’t own, and would never buy…so I didn’t use it.  Sue me.

*** Let’s start here by having a little chat about that photo up there.  Do you see that crust?  Well, technically this recipe is a tart…not a pie.  A tart is made in a tart pan…which I do not own.  A tart is a bit bigger than a normal pie pan, and thus cooks quicker because it’s a thinner layer.  I did not make a tart.  Jaye was a little bit frustrated yesterday by traffic, and the grocery store, when she couldn’t find a stupid refrigerated pie crust (because I was being lazy…which is never something that I am when it comes to making my own doughs) nor a tart pan.  So in a rush of anxiety, I bought a frozen prepared pie crust.  This did not allow for my “tart” to be a tart…but more a pie.  I don’t advise this as my cooking time was about twice as long as the recipe called for.

Anyways. 

Start by preheating your oven to 425degrees.  Toss the cauliflower with 1 tbsp olive oil (and a bit of salt and pepper), spread on a baking sheet and roast until nice and golden. 

If like me, you used a premade pie crust, throw that in the oven to pre-bake so that your “tart” isn’t soggy.  I just left it in the oven with the cauliflower until it was also golden brown. 

In a saute pan, carmelize the onions with the rest of the olive oil.  They need to be nice and creamy brown…not charboiled like mine ended up being.  When those are ready, spread the dijon mustard in the bottom of the crust and top with the onions. 

Hopefully by now your cauliflower is roasted… Dump those on top of the onions and reduce your oven to 350degrees.  In a bowl combine everything else, except the parmesan topping.  This will involve wisking the eggs, marscapone, cream, nutmeg, pepper and swiss ( I mean Gruyere) together to make a nice thick custard.  Pour this on top of the cauliflower, top with the parmesan, and bake for 40 minutes (or like me…1.5 hours) until the center is set. 

Going in, your precious “tart” should slightly resemble this puppy

You should probably try and take photos with better lighting, and not eat a portion of your crust before you take said photos.  This exemplifies my uber klass factor.

After whining and complaining to your husband that this is the LONGEST time you’ve ever had to wait for food…deciding that it doesn’t actually smell very appetizing (as husband is saying how AWESOME it smells), realizing that you should never take so much time to prep food because you never want to eat it when it takes this much effort…and finally taking a bite just so that you can say you tasted it…you quickly realize that this is the single most tasty thing you have ever consumed, and will definitely be attempting to make this “tart” into a real tart sometime in the near future.

Leave a Reply

