Anniversary Dinner: Strawberry Salad

If you aren’t into cooking then you probably don’t want to hang around here this week.  I’m doing something extra special by sharing with you all our so very gourmet anniversary dinner (and the events of the day) that I made for us.

I’m going to tease you by preparing all of the blogs tonight, but only releasing one part of the meal at a time (and yes there were FIVE parts) so I can have a nice long break from writing posts this week.  Don’t you hate me?  I’ll be nice though and at least tell you what it is you’ll expect so you can plan your week accordingly.

Monday – Strawberry and Toasted Pecan Salad

Tuesday – Roasted Asparagus with Dijon Vinaigrette

Wednesday – Roasted New Potatoes

Thursday – Chicken Piccata

Friday – Raspberry Bakewell Tart

So without further delay…I give you my Strawberry and Toasted Pecan Salad

This salad was a completely last minute decision.  Our grocer had a great price on strawberries so I improvised with a very recipes to come up with this delightful starter.

The only real prep work is the pecans.  I didn’t measure on here, just estimated… On the stove top, heat a pan to medium and add a small pat of butter.  Melt, add a tsp or so of sugar, a dash of cinnamon and a handful of pecans.  Stir consistently until toasty…This is a general concept that I made up since I have no idea how long they were left on the heat…and there was a tiny accident in the middle of this toasting (you’ll hear about it later this week).

The rest of the salad ingredients are:

Fresh salad mix

Strawberries

Vinaigrette – 1/4 cup EVOO

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

2 tbsp sugar

Zest of half an orange

Dash of paprika

Whisk the ingredients for the vinaigrette and put over the salad/strawberries/pecans.

This was a super simple and light salad.  I loved it, and that’s coming from someone whose idea of a fabulous salad is iceberg and ranch.  I’m not a fancy salad girl – but I liked this!

Now for a mini recap of the early anniversary day events —-

I woke up with a migraine.  The fates have it in for me, I’ve spent the last 3-4 weekends in bed considering pulling my eyeballs out to relieve pressure.  Luckily I have the best husband in the world who takes care of me (aka brings me medicine and donuts in bed).  So I spend the morning in bed.  When I did get up, I was handed a letter from my non-romantical husband – which may or may not have moistened my eyes.

We made a last minute decision to take our cake up to my Mum’s house to share with my family.  Originally this was going to be the dessert of our dinner, but I’m glad we broke that plan.  It was nice to share it, and I can’t lie – my Bakewell Tart was insane, so glad I did that for dessert instead.

Then we came home and I cooked and baked all afternoon.  All the time listening to Ke$ha (yah I’m cool with the coolkid spelling) over and over and over and over.  I get kind of obsessive when it comes to songs I like 🙂

Note to self – find music that doesn’t make husband cringe when he hears it five thousand times in one night.

Leave a Reply

