Anniversary Dinner: Roasted Asparagus with Dijon Vinaigrette

Does anyone else have recipe amnesia?  I picked a recipe for this out earlier this week, and when it came down to preparing it Sunday night – the website was nowhere to be found.  So I was forced to find something similar on MarthaStewart.com and improvise the rest.

We are huge fans of asparagus.  Like…we eat it twice a week.  That and broccoli.  My plan was actually to roast up some broccoli and carrots with the asparagus, but as usual, the fates stepped in.

Just as I was getting the vegetables out of the fridge a hugely catastrophic thing happened.

I swear I did NOTHING to spur this event.  I opened the fridge, picked up the veggies, and as I went to close the door, the middle door shelf (holding about five glass jars) detached and spewed glass/tomato sauce/Teriyaki sauce/salad dressing all over the floor.  It looked like I had murdered a large animal right in the middle of the kitchen.  I’m actually sad that I didn’t take a picture of the mess.  I couldn’t move!  There was glass EVERYWHERE, and tomato sauce was sprayed up to the ceiling and up to 15 feet away on the tiles.  I love having a husband to clean up things when I make a mess.  I used the excuse that I just had to keep things going for dinner (or we wouldn’t eat until next week).

Hubbers picked up glass, wiped up, disposed of and cleaned everything, and I helped a bit.

Then he did something I kept telling him not to do – he cleaned the rags out in the sink (hello disposal and tiny shards of glass!).  Needless to say, our disposal stopped cranking about 30 seconds later.  (don’t worry, I’ll get to the recipe soon enough)

Now the one thing my gracious life companion lacks is handyman skills.  So I guess it’s fitting that I have them, and aren’t afraid to get to it.  I fixed our disposal, while wearing my apron, all by myself.  Then cleaned it out and praised my skills when it started working like new.

My husband was in awe of his amazing wife 🙂

Then it was back to the kitchen island for some asparagus roasting!

1 lb asparagus spears (hard parts trimmed)

2 tsp Dijon mustard

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

2 tbsp EVOO

Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper

Roast the asparagus in a 400degree oven until tender.  While cooking, whisk together the rest of the ingredients…like so…

Make sure to perfect taking action shots so that you can post them on your blog and gloat profusely.

Toss asparagus with the mixture and serve immediately.

Remember to not have murderous intentions while cooking as they lead to broken garbage disposals.

Leave a Reply

