Anniversary Dinner: Roasted New Potatoes with Garlic

This is by far the single most amazing potato creation ever invented.

I am a potato lover.  Baked, fried, roasted, mashed, heck…I’ve been known to eat raw potatoes.  They make me happy, and even though common thought is that a potato is not considered in the “vegetable” category – but the “carbs” category – I beg to differ.  A potato is all categories of yummy in my tummy, and I will eat however many potatoes I see fit to eat whether they are my “carb” or “vegetable” of the hour.

I am also not prejudice against any kind of potato.  I will eat sweet, new, red, yukon, purple…when I say ANY potato, I mean it.

So when I thought of what “carb” I wanted for our special dinner – I knew it would be a potato.  As quickly as I decided on potato – I also decided on this recipe.  It is my tried and true.  My favourite.  Just making it makes me giddy, and giddyness is next to godliness afterall (HA you always thought it was cleanliness right??).  This recipe is so simple that you may think it would be no big deal to leave out an ingredient…but it is.  This recipe is simple because it is perfect, do not leave anything out.  That would be a sin.

Recipe (adjusted because I didn’t want 8 servings)

10 small red potatoes

1/4 cup white wine

1/4 cup EVOO

2-3 garlic bulbs

Kosher salt and ground pepper

Are you looking at this yet and wondering if I miswrote 2 garlic BULBS?  Do you think I meant CLOVES?  Well I don’t.

Let me tell you a little story about a friend of mine.  I have this dear friend (friend you know who you are 🙂 ) who once confused a bulb and a clove.  This friend was preparing a fabulous shrimp dish which called for a few CLOVES of garlic.  Now, if you didn’t know what a clove was, you would ask someone at the produce department, right?  Well this is exactly what friend did.  See, she is a smart cookie.  It just so happens though, that this specific produce employee was just about as clueless when it came to garlic as my friend was.  He said (don’t quote me on this) “I think it’s the whole thing”…Ahem…The whole thing?  To this day I still think this guy should have been fired.   Isn’t this on the application or something?  Part of the interview questionnaire?  I mean really people, if we can’t trust our produce employees, who can we trust?  We need to be able to rely on these people when we have recipe confusion.  The moral of the story here is that this friend made her fabulous dinner with way more garlic than the recipe intended.  It was garlic central in her humble abode that night (but the dinner was still fantastic) and I consider this story whenever I include garlic in a meal.

So what does this have to do with this recipe?  When I say BULBS I mean BULBS.  There is a massive difference between the way you usually taste garlic and roasting a whole one to perfection.  Roasted garlic loses most of it’s pungency and becomes this buttery heaven.  So not only are we flavouring the potatoes here, but adding another level to a wondrous meal.  Add some crusty bread and you have a built in appetizer – roasted garlic = butter.  Yum.

The first thing you want to do is preheat your oven to 375degrees.  Quarter your potatoes and lop of the tops of your garlic bulbs so that you have opened up all of the cloves.  Lay everything on a baking sheet (or roasting pan).  Next, drizzle the EVOO and wine over everything, paying special attention to covering the garlic with oil.  Mix potatoes around to coat.  Sprinkle with salt/pepper, cover with foil and pop in the oven.

These babies will stay in the oven for about 40-45 minutes.

Once they’ve cooked for that long you’ll remove the foil,  and continue baking to roasted pleasure (about 25 minutes).  You’ll know their done when you have little creepy under sea creatures popping out from your garlic bulbs.  Everytime I see those I think, anemones, anemones, anemones (why do I see anemones???).  Of course I can’t say the word anemones without sounding like a lispy four year old, but the point is, they kinda creep me out.  I always forget to take pictures of what they look like – but you can click on the original recipe link above to see some pretty awesome ones that Ree has taken.

After this step all there is left to do is dig in!  I promise you, you will never eat a potato better.

One thought on “Anniversary Dinner: Roasted New Potatoes with Garlic

Leave a Reply

