Anniversary Dinner: Chicken Piccata

You wanna know a secret?

I didn’t make Chicken Piccata just because I wanted to.  I made it because it was the feature of our wedding meal.  So this dinner was even more special for us 🙂

I had never attempted this dish before, but I think I made out pretty good.  What do you think?

Hallelujah!

Don’t you want to eat your screen right about now?

This recipe was not only a yummy success, but for the first time ever, I mastered the legendary battle between stainless steal cookware vs. incorrect temperatures.  If you don’t use SS then you probably have no idea what I’m talking about.   Ever since I can remember I have had a secret love affair with cookware.  Maybe it was the hours upon hours my Dad and I would spend in Williams Sonoma checking out their copper beauties…maybe it is my must-be-challenged personality.  Maybe a little of both.  So when it came time to register for our wedding gifts we were all over that department.  I wish, so so wish that copper would have been in the realm of reality budget-wise.  Alas, it wasn’t.  So we went with a copper core SS.  The only problem with non-non-stick cookware is that it takes a little getting used to.  Things are constantly sticking and charring.  Until you get the hang of it at least.

Here I am, a year later, and I finally got it!  It’s really too bad that it isn’t a tip I can divulge.  Instead, if you want to get in on the secret – you need to join the club and learn yourself!  But I’ll tell you, it’s a beautiful thing, worth cheering, jumping and clapping.   Of which I did a lot of.

Oh yah…the recipe.

5 chicken tenders (changed from the original recipe)

Ground pepper and kosher sale

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup panko bread crumbs

2 tbsp EVOO

3 tbsp butter

juice of 1/2 lemon (reserve the rest for garnish)

1/3 cup white wine

1/4 cup chicken broth

2 tbsp nonpareil capers, rinsed

2 tbsp fresh parsley

Start by pounding out your chicken.  Place between plastic wrap and pound nice and thin (I did my super thin because I like them that way).  Sprinkle both sides of chicken with salt and pepper.

On a plate mix flour and panko.  Dredge the chicken with flour and set on a plate to rest.  While those are sitting, in a large pan heat oil and 1 tbsp of the butter on medium.  Add chicken to the pan.

Isn’t that just a beautiful picture of perfected cooking temperatures up there?  I thought so…and wanted to show off.  Thanks for the applause – totally unnecessary.

Cook about 3 minutes on each side, until browned.

Set cooked chicken on a platter when you are through them all.  Add to the pan the lemon juice, wine, brother (coughbuttercough) and capers.  Heat through for about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and add the rest of the butter.  When melted pour the sauce over the chicken.

Top with parsley and lemon slices.

Now, it’s time for the grand meal reveal (one more day until the dessert reveal!)

This was my plate of anniversary yum

Don’t you wish you had joined us?

3 thoughts on “Anniversary Dinner: Chicken Piccata

  1. yummy and beautiful photos. One question, how the devil did you get your brother in that pan? oh, and can you use any brother or does it have to be your own?

  2. Looks very good! Did I tell you I found some mushroom raviolli and made a dish very similar to the raviolli at your reception? Next time you should get those and you’ll have a complete wedding dinner.

Leave a Reply

