Anniversary Dinner: Raspberry Bakewell Tart

I really wish I could live in England.  If only for the desserts.  My mouth waters at the thought of eating a Cherry Bakewell, or Battenburg Cake.  Mmm so good.  Now I can finally make something pretty similar at home!

As I told you on Monday, we ate our wedding cake at lunch time. 

My reasoning on this was two fold. 

1) I really wanted to share it with the fam

2) I really wanted to make a Bakewell Tart (since I finally had a pan to accomodate a true tart)

So for us, this worked out really well.  It also meant that I was on a supreme sugar high for my afternoon in the kitchen.   Nothing better.

I would like to tell you that I followed a recipe for this.  I started to…then I failed miserably when I realized how much butter the Brits expected me to put in this thing.  Heart attack Tart was what it should have been called.  So, I give you my completely apridged recipe of how to make a Bakewell.

Tart – This is from Smitten Kitchen

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1 stick cold cold cold butter

1 egg

You’ll start by combining the butter, flour, sugar and salt in a food processor.  If you have a tiny machine like me…you’ll have to do this in batches.  Pulse Pulse Pulse until you have lots of small pieces of butter and some larger bits, like this…

Break the yolk of the egg and add that in.  Process until the egg is combined and your dough is making clumps.  Dump it out on your counter and quickly do a knead just to fully combine everything.   Wrap the dough and put in the fridge for 2 hours ( or the freezer for 30 mins like me)

Roll out your dough to fit in your pan.  Place dough in pan and freeze for a little while longer (30 mins or so).

Now onto the tart custard! This was where my recipe went off the charts.  I was following the one from Smitten Kitchen, then mixed in a few other googled recipes.

1 cup blanched almonds

1 tbsp flour

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 stick butter (softened)

2 eggs

1/2 tsp almond extract

Start by pulsing in your food processor the flour and almonds. 

They should look like this

Okay, you might want yours to be a little bit smaller – I just wanted to get another cool action picture.   The next part you could do in your processor (if it’s big enough) but I mixed everything in a bowl.  

Add remaining ingredients and stir until combined.  Cover and chill in fridge for as long as you can wait until baking time.

Remove tart crust from freezer and bake at 375degrees for 20 mins or until golden.

When crust is done you’ll take 1/2 cup of raspberry jam and slather the bottom of the crust with it.  Mmm jam.  Then take out your custard and layer that over the jam. 

Bake at 350degrees for about 40 minutes.  Remove, top with powedered sugar and serve!

Obviously my version is not totally traditional (butter butter butter) but it was still very yummy.  We enjoyed small slices for dessert, breakfast and pre-dinner snacks throughout the week!

NOM NOM NOM

Leave a Reply

