Weekly Bounty!

We hit the jackpot again this week!

This just keeps getting better and better.

More of that delicious corn on the cob!  Butternut squash, peaches, mangoes, watermelon…

and

Brussels sprouts!

Story time –

When I was a little girl I loved those little nuggets of Brussels.  Loved them so much that I asked Santa for them for Christmas.  What can I say, I was a weirdo child.  I can probably attribute most of my natural weirdness back to that one Christmas wish.  That one wish set my whole life in motion.  A motion of weirdness.  Most people blame their lack of coolness on some parental characteristic that was out of their control – You know, the whole ‘my parents dropped me on my head’ syndrome?

Well, I take full responsibility on this one.  I asked for Brussels sprouts, and I got ’em.  It’s cruel and unusual, but it’s all me.

Or can I blame that on my redheaded gene?  Who knows.

Today we picked up our basket, and there they were – the visions of many childhood wishes…I can’t wait to roast them up!

Reflecting back on last weeks basket:  I’m really pleased with our branching out abilities thanks to the surprises we receive each week.  Last week I did in fact make eggplant parmesan (the hardest thing I’ve ever attempted to cook – but incredibly delicious), stuffed peppers and roasted vegetable quesadillas.  We’re eating fabulously, and feeling awesome because of it.

I’m surprised by how much we have leftover from last week.  We still have cauliflower, apples, cantaloupe, spinach and a few bananas.  I guess we need to step it up a notch 🙂

Sorry I haven’t been around much this week.  It’s been a busy work week, and I’ve just been sort of out of it.  Hopefully I’ll be back to normal next week!

Leave a Reply

