Apple Cinna-Rolls

I woke up this morning at 7:00AM.  It’s Sunday.  Actually, I woke up at 6:50AM because my alarm clock was auto set for 7:00 and it’s 10 minutes fast.  I’m one of those people that has a hard time going back to sleep after I’ve woken up.  So accidentally, here I am, awake, while I should be sleeping.

The good thing though, is I’m surrounded by the wonderful morning smell of these beauties.

I love baked goods.  They work really well in our house.  Large batches means they’ll feed my hungry hubby breakfast for days.  Plus they’re full of calories – which are important when dealing with a rail thin husband.  At least they aren’t processed, and I can pronounce everything that’s in them.

They did take a while though.  I was preparing them last night while we watched The Ugly Truth.  Well worth the wait!

The Dough

About 4 1/2 cups flour (I used both unbleached AP and WW)

2 tbsp active dry yeast

1 cup milk

3/4 stick unsalted butter

1/3 cup raw cane sugar (you can use regular sugar, we’ve converted to raw)

1/2 tsp salt

3 eggs

In a large bowl combine half the flour and all of the yeast.

In a small saucepan, heat the milk, sugar, butter and salt.  Keep a thermometer nearby and check the mixture until it gets to 120degrees.  Then pour it over the flour.  Add the eggs and mix mix mix.  You’ll have a very wet mixture, sort of like soupy oatmeal.  Add the rest of the flour until you can’t stir in any more.

Dump the dough out on a floured counter.  Knead.  Add more flour as you go (this is where the about 4 1/2 cups comes in – you stop measure at this stage, just go with it) until your dough is not sticky and smooth.  Place back in the bowl you  mixed it in, cover and set in a warm place for 1 hour.

Here’s a rising tip for you guys.  A lot of bakers are scared of yeast recipes.  Yeast is finicky and sometimes a plain old PITA…  When it comes time for me to let dough rise, I always follow this method.  Heat your oven to it’s lowest setting.  On a manual oven you can probably get away with setting it to 100degrees.  On our digital, the lowest is 265degrees.  So, I set the temperature and turn the oven off once it gets to full heat.  Crack the door open until it’s warm and toasty in there but not hot enough to cook anything.  Then I put the dough in the oven and shut the door.  I always get a perfect rise this way.  It’s hard to find a warm place in an Arizona summer air-conditioned house, but this works wonders.

Once your dough has doubled in size, punch it down (the best part!) and turn it back out on the counter.  Separate the dough into two pieces and set aside for a few minutes.

Filling

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

2 tbsp cinnamon

3/4 stick butter

6 apples, peeled and chopped

In a small bowl combine the sugar, flour and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter until you have coarse crumbly sugar covered butter bits.

Go back to your dough.

Roll out both sections of dough to about 12X8inch rectangles.  Sprinkle the filling mixture all over the place.  Take care in getting it as close to the edges as possible so it’s on every little roll.  Sprinkle the apples over that.

Starting at the long side of the rectangle, roll the sheet up, tightly!  Seal the edges by pinching or with a bit of water.  Repeat with the other sheet of dough.

Slice off the rolls.  Mine made about 12-13 per sheet roll.

I placed each roll into a greased muffin tin.

Cover, and set in the fridge overnight.

At 6:50AM the next day (you know, like me), turn on the oven to 375degrees and pop those suckers in for about 15-20 minutes.  If the dough seems very dry when you take it out of the fridge, brush with some milk.

You could easily make a glaze to top off the rolls.  I didn’t…but if my husband has a super sweet tooth when he wakes up, I might add some.

A really super easy glaze is just 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and a few dashes of milk.  Mix until smooth.  This is what I use on homemade poptarts/scones etc.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Apple Cinna-Rolls

  1. These sounds delish! I’m going to attempt them this upcoming weekend.

    Have you posted the pop tart recipe? My son would love those….not to mention, I’d love to find an alternative to the gross, boxed grocery version.

    • I did the poptarts for my old blog – but I deleted everything – so maybe I’ll make some this week so I can post it for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

