Weekly Bounty – Coconut?!

One of these things is not like the other…can you guess which one?

Yes, I added my delicious coffee drink into the photo today.  Mainly because I’m a little disappointed with my basket this week…but my drink made me feel better.

I’m a little disappointed because the baskets were SO small today.  What’s with that?  I’m a roll with the flow kinda gal though, so I’m not letting it get to me too badly.

Today we got: 2 huge cucumbers, 2 yellow squash, 1 romaine, 1 cabbage, 5 tomatoes, 1 bag carrots, 4 avocados,  6 bananas, 1 coconut, 8 apples, 6 peaches, 1 container strawberries, 1 container blackberries.   Still quite a steal if I do say so myself.  I think the problem this week though, was that there just didn’t seem to be many “extras”.  Most weeks we get a lot of leftovers, this week, not so much.  I’m thinking maybe this is just the transition phase as they are still working on getting the new website up and running, so things are screwed up with order quantities.  I have no idea.  I was sad though.

Here’s the deal.  I’ve been having a really bad week.  Actually, I’ve been having a really rough couple of weeks.  Not stuff I’m going to discuss on my blog.  But let’s just say, I needed this basket to be awesome.  I relied way too much on this basket to be awesome.  So I’m sad that it’s not.

But

I have a coconut.

Who has a fresh coconut?

Me.

It’s pretty cool, and even through my mess of emotions right now, that coconut is getting me through it.  Especially when I shook it and heard the liquid inside, then shook it at hubby so he could hear it.  His goofy grin was enough to make me feel that maybe the three of us (you know, us + coconut) would make it through this rough time and come out feeling better.

There is also quite a bit leftover from last weeks basket…so we’ll make it through the week as usual.

This is what I did as soon as we came home…

Bag of veggies for snacking.  Bowl of fresh fruit for breakfasts/snacking.  Huge bowl of salad for lunches.  Why hello new week, we are ready for you!

5 thoughts on “Weekly Bounty – Coconut?!

  1. Ha! Your coconut made me laugh. So does this mean that someone in AZ is growing coconuts? That seems a little crazy to me. Don’t they take a ton of water to grow?

    I’m sorry you’ve been having a couple bad weeks! Keep your head up, girl. It’ll turn around soon.

  2. Awww man! No bad weeks allowed! I got two co-co-nuts! I could make myself a new brassiere!

    • LOL you could make a brassiere with one 🙂
      A friend gave me the trade secrets of coconut eating today. I’m stoked to try it this week!

  3. You were given the bare minimum for the baskets this week. Sounds like whoever is running it is putting the assigned amount in each basket and letting the volunteers keep the rest.

    The way my site runs things is that we keep filling each basket with produce until there is not enough to give each basket one more.

    Maybe try a new site next week and see if things are different…

    ps. sorry about your bad week…

Leave a Reply

