Creative Displaying

One thing that I’m really bad at is stage setting.

You wouldn’t believe how long it took me to prepare and take the photos in our house tour, and I still don’t like them.  But hey, with the new D-SLR, maybe I’ll take another shot at it soon!

In general, our house is never staged.  Not that I think a house should be 100% model home beautified 24/7…but I kinda wish our house would be.  So I’m making a goal.  I would like to pay more attention to keeping the house looking in tip top shape – so I don’t have to spend three hours setting our house up for photos.  With the new camera, there will be a LOT of photos.

One way to make this easier on me and hubby, I’ve discovered, is to make everything that you have out look functional but pretty and clean at the same time.  As much as I love the big glass bowl we used to keep our fruit in – it just wasn’t for the pretty-factor.  Clear glass always seems to have splotches, and this specific bowl was too big for the fruit I would leave out on the table.  I switched out the glass with some layered serving dishes.  It’s not perfect, but it works, and I think it’s cute.  This is our new setup (and yes, I want to keep the table set – we did this when we first got settled here, and it helped a lot)

Go fruit!

Confession: We’ve had this coconut for so long now that I don’t even know if it’s edible.  I just can’t bear to crack it.  I love the cuteness factor it adds to our house.  The texture is so interesting, and I looooovvvveee shaking it to hear the stuff inside slosh around.

Not only is this working as a cool new fruit display, but by displaying some of our serving dishes (we have a TON – and I want more – I love white dish-ware)  we have freed up valuable space in the lower cabinets of our island.  Go organization!

Since we’re also being smart foodies and keeping our tomatoes out of the fridge now, I also rigged up this little diddy.

I call it the Salsa Bowl.  All of the important ingredients to making some kickin’ awesome salsa, all in a pretty dish.

Hubby even came down and said how nice the kitchen looks with the new additions!

Now I just need to find uses for the other 500 dishes we have.

Oh and in case the visual eye candy hasn’t been enough for you the last few days…check out these guys that my brother took of my bands of glory

My everyday beauty…check out the fibers on my jeans!

The set.  Perfect.

PS – at 24 hours into owning the new camera, we officially have taken over 500 pictures.

Obsessed.

4 thoughts on “Creative Displaying

  1. Oooh, what kind of camera is it? When we got our new Nikon, omg we have tons. Have fun with it.

  2. Love the salsa dish! I am still learning about my camera-and I got mine for Xmas. I need a class.

  3. Oh, I want a Canon soooo bad! I keep wishin’ and hopin’ (and thinkin’ and prayin’?) that DH will surprise me with one, but no luck yet.

    And for the record…I still have my coconut too. Can’t bear to part with it. Can’t figure out what to do with it.

Leave a Reply

