Black Bean Requests

Sommer requested that I post my recipe for crock pot black beans.

This isn’t an official recipe – but it’s what I throw together when I’m in a hurry, and they always turn out fabulous.

You’ll need

Two large bulk bin scoops of dried black beans (around 2-3 cups)

6-10 cups of water

1 onion diced – I cut this down to 1/2 onion this time because I was using them in an enchilada recipe that adds more onions

2 large cloves of garlic, minced

1 tbsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

sprinkle of salt

First, take a large crockpot bowl and dump you beans in.

Separate out any misfit beans like this

and toss those in the trash.

Rinse your beans well, and if you have time, cover with water and soak overnight.  This will pre-plumpen your beans.

Add all ingredients in with your beans.

Add about water – if you like a lot of saucey leftovers then add 8-10 cups, if you want less sauce add 6ish.  I’ve made it both ways, and add more water when I’m using the beans for beans/rice, but less if they’re going in another recipe.

Cover and set to the LOW setting overnight, or  high for 5-6 hours.  Check beans close to the end of your time to taste and feel texture.  Add more seasoning if they aren’t kicking enough for you as is.  At this point you should be able to tell how much longer to leave them in for.  I like ours pretty mushy, so I like to do this overnight – some people like a more stable bean and will do less time.

Do not – under any circumstances ask your husband to turn on the crockpot to the Low setting when he goes to bed.  In the morning you might find that he set it to the Warm setting which did absolutely nothing but make the hard beans kind of warm.

Irritating.   I still love him.

I apologize for the finished photo at the top.  Your beans will not come with tomatoes and cheese…and neither did mine.  But my husband used all the beans for our dinner tonight and didn’t save me any for a photo op…you get the point.

Enjoy your beans!

2 thoughts on “Black Bean Requests

Leave a Reply

