Brightening Up

Are you ready for the big painting secret?

Remember how our main living area looked like this?

Well after this weekend, it’s on it’s way to being a little bit brighter

Why this change?

Well, friends.  The truth is, I suck at decorating.  I agonize over details and then change my mind once I can’t turn back time.  It’s always been this way.

When I was a kid, I decided I loved the colour orange.  So everything was orange.  Soon after I started having orange things – blankets, lotion dispensers, sweaters…I decided I didn’t like them anymore, but was too much of a hardass to admit it.

As a teen I convinced my Dad to let me paint my furniture (desk and dresser).  The dresser was lime green and bright pink.  The desk, neon yellow and royal blue.  Seriously, what the heck was wrong with me?  It was hideous, and I was stuck with it til we built our new house and we went with built ins.

I promised myself this house would be designed and decorated well.  I spent countless hours mentally designing the rooms, picking colours of paint, the couches, all the little details.  We spent some insane amounts of time scouring every paint sample from here to timbucktwo.  In the end we chose what I thought was the prettiest olivey green in the entire world.  My visions of the house were swirling with delight.  We bought new couches in what we thought would be a complimentary colour.

I knew something was wrong the second the paint went up on the walls.  I just knew it.  But couldn’t bring myself to say anything.  After the paint dried and we moved in, I told hubby how disappointed he was.  He tried to comfort me, and told me it would grow on me – the colour was great.

Seven months later.

The colour is not great.

For me.

It’s dark, it’s too green.  I feel like I’m living in a hobbit cave.  A green, oozy, bat filled hobbit cave.  One that I can’t decorate to save my life because I’m so confused with the colour.

Our new couches suck.

They are way too dark.

Cavelike to the max.

I hate the living area so much that I rarely spend any time in there.

You think I’m crazy??  This predicament has kept me up a many nights.  I’m that disturbed by it.

Then I came to a realization.  All of my decorating fails have been with going all out on bold colours.  When I stick with neutrals, and a small pop of colour, I rock it (at least in my head – don’t ruin it) case in point – the sitting room.   So, it’s back to basics – neutrality at it’s best.

I told myself that repainting wouldn’t be the worst.  Especially if I went with our tried and true beige from the front room/upstairs hallway.  Oh and if I took my time.  One wall at a time, one coat at a time, taking all precautions – FrogTape included.

So Friday afternoon I decided it had to happen.  Now.

I broke out some leftover paint, and went to work.

Then I spent about a hundred minutes thinking of what to do with the couches.

The plan is to sell them on Craigslist sometime in the fall/maybe winter.  Then to buy new couches.  This time, they’re exactly what will make me smile.  Bright, cheerful, no more microfiber.  The best part?  They’re going to be WHITE.

Again, you think I’m crazy.

I’m not.

I realized what my problem was.  I’ve been dreaming of a bright, clean, totally un-conventional for stains, house.  We don’t have kids, and you know what?  White is bleachable.

Don’t try and talk me out of it.  I’ve started to replan the entire room, and I’m so wonderfully ecstatically happy.

Finally.

4 thoughts on “Brightening Up

  1. It looks purty! I ❤ white slip-covered couches!
    Lol at throwback to my old-young-self room–every wall was a different primary + green color. so.very.bad

  2. Ooh! I like!

    Have you thought about a slip cover in between now and when you sell them? It will help keep them in tip-top shape, to get top dollar, and it may help you visualize the room better too!

    I think that beige will really make your white banister pop! 😉

  3. I am more than happy to trade couches Jaye, you like light and I like dark. We have the same couches in white!

Leave a Reply

