Fake Out Mashed Potatoes

Who doesn’t like mashed potatoes?

That’s what I thought, everyone loves mashed potatoes.

But you know what everyone doesn’t necessarily like?

Cauliflower.

I do, but I like to prepare for the future – and I can totally envision future Fay children to be picky eaters (who knows why, I know I was NOT) so I’m preparing myself with an arsenal of picky eater fighting foods.

Last night I performed a magic trick by sneaking a whole head of cauliflower into these bad boys

Mmmm I love me some white foods.

There should be a whole food group associated with white foods.

I would eat them all.

So, if you are in the mood to take your taters up a notch, this is what I suggest you do:

-Get yourself a head of cauliflower, the bigger the better, and chop it up

-Grap 4-5 medium/smallish baking potatoes, peel and chop

Boil these two together until very soft, like spoon mashable.

Mash to the consistency of your favourite Thanksgiving Taters.

– Add salt and pepper to taste

– If you want some kick in your shorts, add about a cup of shredded pepper jack cheese.

We did that last step, and it definitely took these taters up a notch – BAM

There you have it, some healthier spuds.  Don’t tell the kids!

This should make enough for side dishes for a family of four plus leftovers.

Or, if you’re like us, you and your husband will consume the whole pot for dinner.

What can I say.

I have zero problems with cauliflower, and potatoes + cheese make my cauliflower fabulous.

Leave a Reply

