Cookies and Cream

This week we had a potluck at the office.   I tend to bring desserts to these kinds of events because it gives me a reason to try out indulgent recipes without worrying about who is going to consume all of the delightful calories.  Plus, it’s just plain awesome to have coworkers asking when you’re going to bring in more cupcakes.

There has been one recipe that I’ve been eyeing for months.  Planning my method of attack, and hoping that a potluck or excuse for office treats to come up.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

What’s so strange about me wanting to make this recipe so badly, is that I don’t even like Oreos!  I know, banish me to the edge of the world…I don’t like Oreos.  I hate how your teeth have a perma-sweater of chocolate dust after eating them.  I’m not a fan of the flavours – which may be due to my lack of milk love, so they just don’t do it for me.  Golden Oreos though, they have promise.  Maybe one day I’ll try those out.

I think this recipe stood out to me because of the vibrancy of Annie’s photography.  She has a way with the camera.  Literally, everything she makes, looks so edible that I’m scared I might consume my computer sometimes.  I think I need to make myself a lightbox so I can take uber awesome photos.

So, Wednesday evening had me in the kitchen, sipping on some green tea, making cupcakes!

I’m not going to post the recipe here, you’ll just have to click the link above for it.  I’m way too lazy 😉

Instead I’ll take you through a photo tour of some steps.

Hiding the secret Oreos at the bottom of the cupcake cups.  These were a nice little surprise for all the eaters.  Not to mention the fact that the cream actually bakes into the cake batter – I swear this makes the cupcakes more delicious than you can even imagine.  I’m warning you though – decadence is exceeded with these guys, sugar coma may result.

You may find this strange, but I don’t use a stand mixer.

When we first got married I really wanted the infamous KitchenAid.  We had one in our house growing up, and I have many fond memories of mixing cookie dough, the ease of the set it and go mixer.  I took my Mum’s advice though, when she told me that she hated that mixer.  She much preferred a simple (and much cheaper) option of a hand mixer with stand attachment.  Much easier to clean, took up less space, and really, who doesn’t want to save money.  So she bought me my hand mixer.  And…I love it.  Probably one of the best kitchen decisions I’ve ever made, only topped by buying our house for the built in wine cupboard the kitchen came with.

What I love most about it, is the fact that I’m part of the process.  I control where the mixer goes, what kind of swirl patterns are created, and the intensity of bicep workout I receive.  Plus, it makes me mobile.  I can pick up the bowl and mix sideways or upside down (who cares about the mess).  It’s just awesome.

Have I mentioned how much I love folding in things?  This recipe calls  for folding in the Oreo pieces into the batter.  I like the pattern of folding.  Swoop, scoop, turn, swoop, scoop, turn.  It’s like a romance, in a bowl.

I also really like to take pictures without looking through the viewfinder.  I just hang the camera over the object and snap at leisure.  Sometimes I’m left with neato shots like this one.  But let me be honest with you…for every picture I get that turns out, I have about 20 that didn’t.  A fraction of the pictures I take end up in my blog.  It’s kind of ridiculous, but every night there is a photoshoot in our house, and I’m lucky if I get one that I think is worthwhile.

The moral of this story – these cupcakes are a masterpiece of sweetness.  They may be a little too sweet, but once in a while, too sweet is a necessity.  The cake is a little bit heavier than regular cupcakes, and I’m not sure why, but right out of the fridge, these guys are amazing.

For once, I actually enjoyed eating an Oreo.

One thought on “Cookies and Cream

Leave a Reply

