Breakfast of Champions

I have a confession

I’ve been indulging for breakfast lately…

The real secret though, is that this indulgent “dessert” looking parfait, is actually packing more punch, more nutrients, and definitely more flavour than your morning yogurt parfait.

Oh, and did I mention, it’s vegan?

That’s my new favourite thing to say.  I’m testing it out.

I tested out telling a friend that I was “going vegan” or at least, attempting it, and that didn’t go over so well.  I’m thinking I should just keep my vegan-wannabe mentality to myself.   Especially considering, I ate cheese with dinner last night.  Worst.vegan.ever.

But in the morning…I have no problem sticking to it.

Hubby and I went out on Saturday and picked up a few pantry staples.  At least I hope they become pantry staples, because technically, we’re just “trying” them out, along with  my new vegan attitude.

You see, I read up about the awesome health benefits of some of the ingredients that Angela over at Oh She Glows, uses in her morning routine.   I just couldn’t resist the look of her morning  Banana Soft Serve Vegan Overnight Oats parfait.  So, we picked up some Chia Seeds, and a few spoonfulls of Cacao Nibs to try out with this new breakfast.

I’m pretty sure I’m hooked.

Well, I’m not completely hooked on the Chia Seeds.  I think I need to hide them in something where I won’t notice the tapioca-ish texture…but I really like the benefits and added nutrition they give my breakfast.

Vegan Overnight Oats – adapted from link above

1/3 cup rolled oats

just over 1/2 cup almond milk (I like my oats less liquidy so I lower the milk)

1 T chia seeds

1 t AmazingMeal Chocolate Infusion protein powder

Combine ingredients in a bowl and set in fridge overnight.

Overnight oats are probably the coolest thing since sliced bread.  They really couldn’t be any easier,and the outcome is pretty awesome.  The chia seeds make the oats nice and thick, and the protein powder adds a great boost to the meal.

In the morning make one serving Banana Soft Serve adding a tsp of chia seeds to the blender.

Then take out a pretty glass (when else are you going to use a wine glass at 6AM?) and layer- oats, soft serve, pinch of cacao nibs, repeat.

This couldn’t be any better.  It is definitely the most decadent healthy thing I have consumed for breakfast.

Even better than that, it keeps me full all morning!

9 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. I am secretly wishing on the meteors (which are courtesy of the Perseids Meteor Showers for tonight and tomorrow night) that this yummy looking parfait is my Mothers Day breakfast treat next May!

Leave a Reply

