Early Birthdays

Birthdays are pretty awesome.   At least I think so.  Ask my husband, and he’ll beg you to forget he has a birthday.  I often wonder why he hates them so much, but alas, I just don’t know.

You won’t find me complaining about it though.

Our days of birth are less than a month apart.  So, if he isn’t wanted to make a big deal over his, we get to make an even bigger deal out of mine.  It’s that whole balance thing.  I’ve got to balance out his lack of birthday fun, by making mine even bigger.  Sarcasm.  I haz it.

My birthday is next week, and this year it’s a little different.  One week to go, and I’m not even thinking about being the big 2 (+2) = 4 – if you can’t figure that one out, we can’t be friends.

The truth is, all that I’m thinking about is my exam.  My brain is constantly swimming with the characteristics of Partnerships VS Corporations.  The different methods of budget forecasting.  Cost accounting and regression analysis.   Differences between a LAN and a WAN.

Sexy talk, I tell ya!

Maybe signing up to take my first exam the day after my birthday wasn’t such a good idea.  It’s done now though.

My hubby has given me something Birthday-ey to smile about though!

He bought me an early Birthday present (or more like – he let me pick out my early Birthday present)

o

Isn’t she beautiful?

So here’s my schpeal on purses…

Before yesterday, I could count on ONE hand the number of purses I’ve had in the last ten years.  Five purses, over TEN years = one purse every two years.  Not really though since up until about six months ago I had been toting around the same Burberry purse for over five years.    But, it was starting to show some wear on the leather handles, so I switched it out for an old Dooney I had that never got much love.

My purse usage history is really good, since I like expensive bags.  That’s the only way I can justify the splurges.  Plus, it’s truly my only real splurge.

A few days ago, Hubby mentioned that the purse I had been using was just too small, and I was due for a new one.  I could never close it, and it only really held my wallet and phone.   I just couldn’t bring myself to spend the money though, so we attempted some retail therapy at Kohls and Target.  I really tried to find something to love.  Really tried.  It didn’t happen though, and I was getting frustrated with not finding something in a more realistic price range to sling over my shoulder.

That’s how I ended up in the mall, at a Coach counter.

Within thirty seconds I fell in love with this bag, and in another thirty seconds I chose a colour.

Honestly, it took longer for the sales lady to ring up my order and try to coerce me into the store credit card, than to pick the bag.    Once I finally got across to the lady that I wasn’t interested in a store credit card, I entered my pin and we were outta there!

I can’t stop hugging this sucker.  I smile just looking at it.

The detailing rocks, the size is perfect, and it’s a little bit punchy for my personality, which I adore.

The best part though?

SO much space for all my stuff!  I actually don’t know what to do with all the space.   It even holds our SLR!  Yes, I did check that out when we got home.  Now that is my kind of purse!

It was a perfect early celebration, and the most perfect distraction from my impending test taking.

Actually, I lie.

This was the perfect distraction…

That there is a camel spider.  He was massive.   And scary.  Gross.  Huge.  Fuzzy.  Gross.

Did I say MASSIVE?

*shudders*

Happy Early Birthday to ME!



7 thoughts on “Early Birthdays

  1. OH-EM-GEE Jaye that is a BEAUTIFUL work of art, that bag! Absolutely stunning! I’m getting butterflies in my tummy just looking at it!

    Happy Early Birthday! (You’ll get another one on your actual birthday though!)
    xoxo

  2. Dear Jaye,

    I love your new bag, but, I HATE that you posted that pic of the bug you found. I literally feel like bugs are crawling on me now. Ewwwwww.

    Tay

    PS – Can you enlarge the font in the commenting box, it is so small and I am squinting while trying to proofread this comment.

  3. Duuuuuuuuuuuude…Purse = AMAZING

    HOWEVER, there should ahve been a warning about the scary spider picture! I am going to have nightmares for WEEKS!

Leave a Reply

