Shower Solutions

One of the biggest things I hate about our house – the master bathroom shower.

You can see a picture of it in our House Tour page.  It’s ugly, and quite tiny.

When we first moved in, hubby tried to take a shower in there.  Immediately afterwards I knew it wasn’t going to work out well.  The Hubs is a little bit too tall for the stall, and the water from the shower head would end up hitting his head and bouncing over the door to the wall, landing on the carpet (the other thing I hate about our house).   No way, was I going to have wet walls and carpet because we couldn’t contain the water.

So ever since that day, we’ve showered in the guest bathroom.  Which is sort of crappy when you think about having guests over.  Like, my in-laws coming in November.  That would put five people depending on one shower.  Not so smart.

Well, today, Hubs and I fixed that problem!

No more big gap of space above the shower!

Now, this fancy (read: cheap, cheerful and eco-friendly!) contraption has more to it than meets the eye!

The first problem I wanted to solve, was to contain the water.  That’s the purpose of a shower liner, right?  I went ahead and purchased a fabric liner $10 (you know, because fabric can get washed when it’s groddy, unlike the plastic liners) and hung it all the way to the ceiling for prime water containing.

Of course, the liner doesn’t go all the way to the shower floor, since most liners are not created for that kind of length.  Kind of an eye-sore if you saw a liner halfway down the glass shower door.

So, that’s where the curtain came in.

One Vivian curtain panel from IKEA  installed on a second rod, again at ceiling height.  I love these curtains because they are so sheer, but still look substantial.  They are the same ones we have downstairs and in our bedroom.  As a matter of fact, I think we might use them in every room of the house because they are just so affordable and easy!

Already, my shower looks much more inviting compared to it’s start.

The last thing we did was to install a new towel rack.  The old one was removed when we painted the bathroom.  It was ugly, so we pitched it.  The new one is quite fancy, with it’s double rods, don’t you think?

There you go.  A few dollars, and a Sunday afternoon to make our bathroom a little bit more enjoyable to be in.

No more sharing the guest bathroom for us!

4 thoughts on “Shower Solutions

  1. If I haven’t said it before (I’m 99.9% certain I have) I LOVE your bathtub. It makes up for any other thing to be disliked about your master bath! T’SMO (that’s my opinion)

Leave a Reply

