A Healthier Ziti

Yay!  A post!

I appreciate everyone being so patient with me.  I can’t guarantee that this will be the beginning of more routine posting, but I’m hoping I’ll have some inspiration.  We’ve got quite a yummy meal plan this week, and you won’t believe what’s making an appearance…

MEAT

Yes, it’s true.

I’m trying out a new thing.  Meat twice a week at home.  We’ll see how it goes this week, as I’m already dreading dealing with the chicken that we bought today.  Ugg.

Tonight I made Baked Ziti for the first time.  I used a recipe I found here.  We both enjoyed it, Hubby really loved it, so that’s a good sign.

1 package ziti – I used a gluten free brown rice ziti

28 oz can crushed tomatoes

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 package frozen spinach, thawed

1 t oregano

2 T basil

salt and pepper

8 oz fat free ricotta

1/4 cup parmesan

2 cups mozzarella

EVOO for baking dish

Preheat oven to 375degrees

Start by following the directions to cook your pasta al dente.  Rinse, drain, return to pot.

In a smaller saucepan, add olive oil and garlic.  Saute for a few moments, then add spinach, salt/pepper, tomatoes, and spices.

Add sauce to the pasta pot, mix with pasta.  Add half of the mozzarella, the parmesan and ricotta.  Stir.

Pour into a pan that you have prepped with oil.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

