The Rash of Doom

Literally.

Today, I found out that my rash has been diagnosed as…

Pruritic Urticarial Papules and Plaques of Pregnancy (PUPPP) or more well known as – The Devil Pregnancy Rash – The End of the World Rash – The Prepare to Never Sleep Again Rash –

Basically, the rash you DO NOT WANT when you are pregnant.

Ugg.

We knew this was an option, but since I’m still so early, we didn’t think it was likely.  PUPPP doesn’t usually flare up until the end of pregnancy, and it tends to start near stretch marks, where the skin is thinning.  Not only do I get to be one of the lucky women that gets the rash, I get to be one of the super rare ladies that has to deal with it for NINE months.

There is nothing to be done about it.  I can use a topical steroid cream, but honestly, what’s the point?  It won’t make the rash go away, and it barely does anything for the itch.  So, I’ll just continue using it when I’m in dire need, slather myself in eczema cream, take oatmeal baths, and ice my itchies.  The good news, the rash usually disappears relatively quickly after the baby is born.  The bad news…Bugger is no where close to being ready for that.

I’m trying to stay positive.  It’s kind of like the calm before a storm.  I know it’s about to get bucket loads worse, and with how bad it is now, I can only imagine what is to come.

At least I know it will all be worth it.  Maybe I’ll have a super awesome, easy peasy delivery to make up for the hellish diagnosis.

If only the world worked like that, eh?

2 thoughts on “The Rash of Doom

Leave a Reply

