The Great Purge – Clothes

I’m not so sure if it’s my nesting instinct kicking in already, or just a pre-spring cleaning urge…but I’ve been itching to do some major purging before BGF’s arrival (not to be confused with the BFG – Big Friendly Giant, although you can bet your bottom I tried to use that anagram, unfortunately Baby Fay Girl does not work as well as Baby Girl Fay)

The very first thing on my to do list, was to clean out our clothes closet.  I am probably the WORST person ever at keeping things I don’t wear anymore.  Honestly, most of the time, I’m circulating about 15 things I actually wear.  My closet does not depict this scenario.  It is in a constant state of so full I can’t ever find anything – which leads me to constantly buy a new basic white T shirt, when I know there are five more just hiding somewhere in the mess.

A few years ago I went ahead and did a major clothing purge.  I donated at least 2 garbage bags full of stuff and found new homes for another bag or two.  Yet, still my closet filled up…how does this happen?!

So today I went at it again.  This time, between the Hubs (he hardly had anything to purge) and myself, we purged about 150-170 items of clothing and pairs of shoes.  Ridiculous I tell you.  My bathroom is full of the garbage bags ready to go to Goodwill.

The funny thing, our closet still appears full!  Okay, so maybe I could have gotten rid of more, but I would like to have some clothes to wear during transition phases after BGF is born.

Leave a Reply

