Chipotle Chicken

I have a recipe problem.

It’s simple.

I don’t like them.

It is way too much effort for me to A) Write down a recipe to bring to the kitchen – B) Lug my laptop down to the counter and set it up to read a recipe – C) Remember to look at the recipe while I’m cooking – or D) Follow the recipe and not make adjustments…(for your information, todays lesson involves D)

This is why I frequently end up with dishes that aren’t quite what they’re supposed to be.

Last week I added a recipe for Carmelized Chipotle Chicken to our weekly menu plan.  I painstakingly (meh, it really didn’t involve that much effort) picked up all of the required ingredients, and prepared to make this yummy dish.  There was only one change of plan from the original recipe – I chose to switch out the chicken thighs for chicken breast quarters.  I have issues with bone in chicken.

So away I went with the simple recipe  to make dinner for my family.

************************

Adapted from Elly Loves Opa

1.5 Tbsp. olive oil
4 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced
1 onion, chopped
1/2 cup ketchup
1 tbsp. Dijon mustard
1 Tbsp. packed brown sugar
2 Tbsp. chopped chipotles in adobo
1/2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbsp. cider vinegar
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
4 chicken breasts – quartered

Heat oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat, until shimmery.  Cook garlic, stirring occasionally, until golden, and then remove with a slotted spoon and set aside.  Add the onions to the oil, and cook, stirring occasionally until golden brown, about 15 minutes.

Add garlic and remaining ingredients, except chicken, to skillet and simmer, stirring occasionally, until thickened, about 25 minutes.

Preheat oven to 450 and place a rack in the center. Brush half of the sauce over the chicken thighs and roast skin side up for 15-20 minutes.  Brush remaining sauce on chicken and roast until cooked through and well browned in spots, about 20 more minutes.

*****************

I quickly realized that the recipe had a ridiculous cooking process.  Make sauce, then bake chicken with sauce, flip chicken, continue baking.  Blah.  The process looked like it was going to take forever.  So I made an impromptu decision to make the sauce, and put the chicken quarters in with the sauce to cook in the saute pan.  This part of my recipe adaptation actually went over very well – I highly recommend this idea!

What didn’t go over so well was my adaptation of the chipotle pepper quantity…

You see, the recipe calls for 2 T of chipotles.  Yet you buy them in a can that is at least 5 T worth of chipotles.  My thoughts – What the heck am I supposed to do with an extra 3 T?

Add them to the sauce.

BIG MISTAKE.

Holy cow.

I did not realize just how spicy those little buggers were!  I more than doubled the pepper, and our mouths were on fire for that slight change of plans.

That being said, this recipe was otherwise flawless.  The sauce had so much depth of flav0ur (fire included) and cooking the chicken in the sauce was much quicker than the planned baking method.

I highly recommend trying this out on your family (but remember, only 2 T of chipotles, unless you live with a bunch of dragons!)

3 thoughts on “Chipotle Chicken

  1. yum, looks good! I do option D all the time. Write down the recipe, but don’t really follow it fully. I always make my own adjustments, or skip ingredients (usually because there’s something DH won’t eat). LMAO about the chipotle peppers. Yes, those things are SPICY so be careful!

  2. I can’t remember the last time I laughed out loud reading something. Thank you for your very descriptive account of your lovingly made dinner. |I am thoroughly enjoying your blog and love your unique writing style and wit. I can hardly wait to show Sherry what you have been up to. Thanks for being so original and entertaining.

Leave a Reply

