34 Weeks Pregnant

Baby is now the size of a: Honeydew melon!  That’s a big baby! BGF is now estimated to be about 5 pounds (her growth ultrasound estimated 5lbs13oz – but they are routinely off by a pound either way), which is about what I weighed when I was born.  Stay in there a little bit longer BGF, I get to be the only preemie in the family!

How I’m feeling: Still trucking along.  I’m not going to lie and say I feel GRREAT or anything, but I’m here, pregnant and managing.  Everyone has different pregnancies, and I have to admit, I’m a little jealous of those that enjoy theirs.  There was a bit of time when I felt awesome, but that was very short lived.  The second I started the final trimester all of the aches and pains grew exponentially, and have only increased week to week.  My feet feel like blocks of cement, I’m more exhausted after sleeping 12 hours than humanly possible…lots and lots of pelvic pressure, swelling, stiff joints, clumsiness.  Man, I’m a mess sometimes.

Emotionally, I’m not feeling much better.  I have those moments when it seems she’ll be here so fast, and that makes me SO happy. Then the majority of the time I think how much longer I have to go, and how it feels never ending.  I feel a bit like a failure with the diabetes as no matter what I do, no matter how hard I try, my medication has to be increased.

Plus there’s been a minor roadblock with my OB.  I found out at my appointment last week that my doctor is no longer practicing as he is on an extended medical leave (you know, that OB that I loooooveeee?)…so here I am, with 6 weeks to go, starting fresh with a new doctor I don’t know.  Sometimes I think that this pregnancy is testing me, I’m not sure what the test is for, but man, I better pass with flying colours at this point.  I’m so tired of the game being changed on me constantly. I’m frustrated with having to smile and put on a brave face, because I really don’t have it that bad.   It’s mentally draining and makes me just want to start stuffing my face with muffins and cookies since apparently my efforts don’t pay off anyway (don’t worry, I’m still doing the right thing.)  I keep repeating to myself “I’m strong and capable, strong and capable” and when in doubt, I pop in the Fear Clearing track CD from my Hypnobabies course.

We’ll get through this.

Physical differences from last week: I am literally, one big belly.  The one good thing about my glucose intolerance is that it literally makes it impossible to gain weight.  This would be a bad thing if BGF wasn’t getting bigger, stronger and healthy.  But, all signs point to a perfect little girl.  For the last two months I’ve either been losing a pound/week, or maintaining my weight.  The nurses/doctors tell me how fabulous I’m doing with my diet,  growing the baby, and although I’m pleased with that, and very pleased that I’m not turning into a whale – I would gladly gain 50 lbs if it meant I could eat some muffins, cookies and bananas.  I have thought that maybe my increased aches and pains are also due to the diet, since I’m losing my body’s natural weight, and not getting enough carb energy.  I’m no doctor though.

I’m having lots and lots and LOTS of braxton hicks contractions, and from what I can tell, a few real deal contractions here and there too.  About a week ago I had the largest one while taking my nightly walk.  I felt the wave start and had to stop walking for a moment.  I just stood there, in the sidewalk, with both hands on my belly, head down, taking in the feeling (it truly felt like a very intense menstrual cramp that kind of waved throughout and around my abdomen).  The Hubs had a minor panic attack because I was just standing there like that “Are you ok? Is the baby ok?  Is this a big movement?  A contraction??”  I think we need to work on some Hypnobabies techniques for him to use for moments like these 🙂

What’s been on my mind: Labour!  At about the 32 week point it became very real to me that labour could be just over the horizon.  I over-analyze every twinge.  It’s exciting, nerve-wracking, but oh-so exciting to think that we’ll be meeting this little girl soon.  Months ago I thought I was excited and couldn’t wait another moment.  Now, I really don’t know how I’m going to function without her in my arms SOON.

Oh and buying a new car.  That’s the plan next weekend.

What I’m looking forward to: The big 35/35.  Next week I’ll be 35 weeks pregnant, and 35 days away from D-Day.  35 weeks was my unofficial – finish everything timeline.  Of course there are still things we’d like to get done, but my plan is to have all the important things ready for 35 weeks.  I’m looking forward to puttering around for (hopefully) another four/five weeks and trying to actually enjoy the end of this pregnancy.

Random thoughts: My baby shower was today!  It was so amazing!  I have some of the most amazing friends and family in the entire world.  Julie did such a beautiful job with the event!  I feel so blessed 🙂  I’ll try to add some pictures when I get a chance to go through them.  Unfortunately, I pulled the typical guest of honour thing and forgot to take pictures of everything myself – oops!

3 thoughts on “34 Weeks Pregnant

  1. Awe Jaye, Im so sorry about your Doctor.. I hope you love your new one just as much!! Before you know it Aria will be in your arms and you will be a mom – an amazing one at that 🙂 You look beautiful!!

  2. I’m SO sorry about your Dr and the diabetes. I do have to say you look WONDERFUL and I cannot believe you’re at 34 weeks already! Woohoo!!!!

Leave a Reply

