Baked and Waiting

I’m not official “due” yet, but we’ve passed the 37 week mark.  Which means, by most standards, this baby is about ready to face the world – and her way too eager parents!

Is it bad that I’m secretly hoping that she decides to make a slightly early appearance this weekend?  Of course my main concern is her readiness and health, but everyday I tell her that we’re ready, whenever she is.

We can wait though.  I’m patient (at least I pretend to be.)

A few awesome things to note (aka shameless bragging)-

I’m 9 months pregnant and today put on a pair of pre-pregnancy jeans.  It’s fabulous, and I have OH so missed them.  I haven’t seen these pants since I was about 14 weeks and switched over to maternity full time.  I just couldn’t take the maternity jean sag anymore, and wanted to feel a bit less frumpy, so I thought I’d give it a shot.  Well, thanks to my good old trusty belly band (and the fact that I keep losing weight) they fit!  I feel normal today!

I’m not going to break out the official numbers yet – but The Hubs and I did a rough calculation the other day, and it’s looking like our nightly walking mileage is going to top 500 miles for this pregnancy.  It’s insane to think we’ve almost walked to Las Vegas and back by now.  I may have given up running during pregnancy, but I’ve still been active!

We have achieved (a tiny bit of) dilation!  Now, let me preface this by saying that I realize dilation means nothing as to when you will go into labour – and if I wasn’t in the situation I’m in, I actually would be refusing internal exams until labour.  BUT with impending thoughts of induction due to my GD, dilation is actually excruciatingly important.  In order for us to have a good shot at avoiding a surgical delivery, my Bishop score needs to be very good, and for that, I need dilation/effacement/dropping baby.  So I’ve been hoping/begging/pleading with my body to give me at least a tiny ounce of hope for a vaginal birth (if it comes to induction)…and she delivered!  As of Friday, I was barely a fingertip dilated, I’m thinning, and baby has been engaged for a few weeks now.   It’s not enough yet, but I have hope!

I finally have a diaper bag!  This is the one I’d been eyeing, and finally pulled the trigger on

*love*

Most importantly.  I’m feeling great.  For the first time in a long time, even considering the aches and pains, I feel really good.  Pregnancy, even if you don’t enjoy it, is so fulfilling and so worth it.  I’m ready for it to be over (and to eat some banana pancakes and a whole bag of Cadbury mini eggs that are waiting for me) but I’m actually looking forward to the rest of my pregnant days.  I feel joyous, excited, humbled, ridiculously lucky…and so very blessed.

I can’t wait to meet my daughter!

I’m thinking it’s about time to start the Baby Poll.  Let’s hear it, when do you guys think this little girl is going to make her Grande Entrance?

7 thoughts on “Baked and Waiting

  1. June 25th? (lol)
    You look BEAUTIFUL! Thank you for posting the progress on your blog. I hope someone is planning to prepare you a nice big stack of banana pancakes for the morning after your delivery. Love you. A. Cara

  2. I will take a guess of June 10th – my dad’s birthday.
    You look great Jaye and glad to hear you are feeling the same. Best wishes for everything wonderful.

  3. Jaye, you look fantastic! You really are glowing 🙂 I think she will be early and arrive on the 7th. It looks like she’s dropped since the last photo you posted.

  4. We have the PPB sashay satchel! I LOVE it (more then my boxy backpack)! You will love it!!

  5. I had to go back and relive this moment; it seems impossible it was as much as three months ago and only three months ago. Every treasured moment of your pregnancy (in my heart) has been overwhelmed by Ariadne’s birth and firm foothold in our lives. She is truly a blessing. I love this photo of you, Boo…. I love remembering. Gotta do that once in a way… that little walk backwards.

Leave a Reply

