No Egg Cookie Dough Balls

A non-baby post! 

I know you all only stop by here to see pictures of Muffin…I mean Aria…eh? But I’m going to start trying to add in some other non-baby posts here and there – if I can hold back. 

These cookie dough balls are DA BOMB.  They’re explosively awesome. 

There truly isn’t anything better in my cooking world than fresh cookie dough.  While I was pregnant I did my best to abstain from eating the raw stuff, you know, eggs, salmonella, all that jazz.  Then I found this recipe and it changed my life. 

I know I say that all the time, but seriously, food changes my life.  New ways of eating things I love changes my life.  New ways of loving things I don’t usually eat is another thing that rates awesomesauce in my book – and I’ve got a few of those recipes coming your way too.  But this one is new way to get your cookie dough fix – minus the potential for food born illnesses. 

The first time I made these, I did it exactly the way the recipe described.  They were scrumptious, but I thought a little too salty for my taste.  The next time I made them, I didn’t have the recipe in front of me, so I improvised on some things.  I decreased the salt a bit, and changed some of the other measurements.  I also substituted the medjool dates because I didn’t have them around.  Sugar is easier anyway, since I keep forgetting to buy the dates. 

Here is my adaptation –

1 cup raw cashews

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

4 tbsp brown sugar

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp vanilla extract

6(is) tbsp maple syrup

1 good sized handful of chocolate chips

In a food processor, pulse the cashews and oats to a crumble.  I like the nuts to be a little chunky in the balls for texture, you can go finer if you wish. 

Add flour, sugar and salt.  Pulse to combine.

The next step you can do one of two ways.  You can either add the extract and syrup to the bowl and process, or you can drizzle them through the tube opening at the top as you process.  I do the latter, because that way you can control the maple syrup to only get exactly how much you need.  So for my method, pour in the extract, then while processing, slowly drizzle the syrup until a dough ball begins to form in the bowl.  I found this to be about 5-6tbsp to get it to the correct consistency.

Now add your chocolate chips and pulse a few beats if you just want to combine.  I like to let it go for a bit longer so some of the chips break up completely and make the balls marble-esque.

Finally, roll the dough into balls with your hands.  You can do bite sized ones, egg sized ones (I would advise against this if you don’t want a sugar coma) whatever you want!  Place on a cookie sheet in the freezer so they become firm.  I then transfer them to a sealed container and store in the freezer. 

My advice – get into the kitchen, and make these.  Stat. 

They’ve totally inspired me.  I’m already coming up with some other cookie dough ball ideas.  I can’t wait to give you some more ideas!

And just because I can’t control my baby love –

Darn it.  She’s the prettiest little thing I’ve ever seen.  I love her more than cookie dough.

2 thoughts on “No Egg Cookie Dough Balls

  1. I love cake balls! I always wondered if you could take out the eggs for cookie dough cake balls. Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

Leave a Reply

