Grilled Vegetable Pizza

I’ve been on a really big pizza kick lately.

Homemade pizza has always been high on my list of “Things I Wish I Were Good At.”

It’s taken me years of practice, but I finally think I can say I’m good at it.

I owe most of my success to Annie.  We’ve tried lots and lots of homemade dough recipes (because making homemade pizza without homemade dough is pretty lame – unless you’re diabetic, in that case feel free to use a pita pocket in place of the crust) without much luck.  Some are too sticky, too dry, don’t have enough fluff factor, too doughy, too bready, don’t crisp up…You get the point.

Annie’s dough recipe is wonderful though.  I’ve even had a bit of success swapping out some of the bread flour for wheat.  I think if you add some vital wheat gluten, a 100% whole wheat crust might be feasible.  Adding this to the list of “Things to Try Someday.”

So anyways, back to the pizza.   For months I’ve been making a carmelized onion pizza.  It’s pretty damn good.  Amazing good.  So good that we usually eat it about once a week (at least) or every chance I get.  Don’t worry, I’ll share that recipe with you soon…but for now, this one is my new pride and joy.  And it’s pretty! (which unfortunately for them, carmelized onions are not.)

If you haven’t figured it out for yourself, grilling vegetables is the Holy Grail of vegetable cooking methods.  It creates a succulent, flavourful, crisp, perfect result out of even the most bland uncooked vegetables.  Obviously outdoor grilling would be top notch for this, but in Arizona summers, indoor grilling is acceptable.  We use a griddle.  No pretty grill marks, but the taste is still awesome.  The recipe below is based off using an indoor grill pan or griddle.  If you do this on a proper grill, you’ll need to alter the veggies so they don’t slide through the grill cracks.  I’m sure you can handle that.

Grilled veggies on pizza = Bomb Awesome

Ingredients (double if using Annie’s full dough recipe)

1/2 Pizza Dough Recipe

1 zucchini – thinly sliced

1/2 large onion – thinly sliced

1 red pepper – thinly sliced (or grill in large segments and slice after grilling)

(any other grilled veggies you want to try – eggplant would be prime)

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella (or sliced from a ball if you’re fancy. I’m not.)

Heavy sprinkle of shredded parmesan (or grated if your grocer was out of the fresh shredded variety)

2 garlic cloves – minced and crushed (or smooshed through a garlic press – I recommend this)

Olive Oil

Kosher salt

Cornmeal

Begin by following Annie’s directions for the dough.  When you get to the point of resting the dough after the rise and punch, start your veggies since they’ll take about half an hour to cut and grill.

Brush olive oil on hot griddle. 

Arrange vegetables in one layer on griddle.  Sprinkle with salt.

Grill until the underside is brown and starting to blacken lightly.  Flip vegetables and re-salt.

Press or roll pizza dough into desired shape.  I like to pretend I work at Dominos and do the traditional stretch and spin in the air.  It’s pretty embarassing, but makes me feel special.   Feel free to press the dough out with your hands for a less dramatic event.

Sprinkle cornmeal in baking sheet or pizza pan.

Place dough over cornmeal, making special care that the edges are touching cornmeal and not the pan directly (or it’ll stick – no bueno.)

Brush the dough with olive oil and sprinkle with the garlic.

Top with mozzarella, then veggies, then parmesan. 

Any other formation would be sacrilage. 

Not really, but this way is prettier.

Bake in a 500degree (yay, hotter than Hell) oven for 8 minutes or until cheese and crust are golden brown.

Serve to all of your loved ones

They will be glad

No, I did not serve pizza to my infant, but the pizza flavoured boob milk was still a hit.

One thought on “Grilled Vegetable Pizza

Leave a Reply

