Sinfully Delicious – Without the Sin

If I could name my most favourite sinful treat to eat, it would be cookie dough.  Raw.  I really try to forget that there is egg in it, because it’s just soooo sinfully delicious that not eating it should be the sin.

If I could name my most favourite dessert at a restaurant, it would be Oregano’s Pizookie.  Warm, doughy, partially cooked cookie.  Get in my bellah Pizookie!

I dream of cookie dough and pizookie.

Only problem is – eating buckets of either would result in sugar overdose and surely added poundage.

Until I found Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog.

And a healthy solution.

Healthy, protein and fiber packed, eggless cookie pie. (side note: I have no idea why mine doesn’t look like Katie’s, but it sure tasted fabulous, just like she said!)

I saw this recipe and had doubts.  Even after reading the enormous praises from the commentors.

Then I ate it.

And it was like I went to heaven and stayed there forever.

It’s been at least a few hours since I ate some and I have not come down from the high.

This stuff is good.

Like gooood.

So good you forget that the main ingredient is BEANS.  Like, make your bowels move, BEANS.  Which is merely an added plus to this dish.  As if you needed another reason to get this in your bellah.right.this.second.

Do yourself a favour and make this immediately.  If you’ve listened to me and my obsession with banana soft serve then you know I’m good on the promises of good eats.

You won’t be sorry you ate this.

Deep Dish Cookie Pie (from Chocolate Covered Katie)

  • 2 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed) (500g total, once drained)
  • 1 cup quick oats
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (I only had cinnamon on hand and that definitely added a little je ne sais quoi that I thoroughly enjoyed!)
  • 3 T canola oil
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar (I used 1 1/4 cups and it was a bit sweeter than I think I would have liked.  I’m going to try 1 cup next time0
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
Preheat the oven to 350degrees and oil a 9 inch round cake pan (you can use a smaller pan for a deeper cake or bigger pan for a thinner cake)
In a food processor, combine everything except the chips until a batter/dough consistency forms.
Mix chips in and dump mixture into pan.
Bake for about 30-35 minutes.
You can increase or decrease the amount of cook time to get your desire cookie consistency.
Cool for 10 minutes before consuming.
(yes, I’m obsessed with shuffling.  You should be too)
One thought on “Sinfully Delicious – Without the Sin

  1. Pingback: More Random Thoughts « Becoming Jaye Fay

Leave a Reply

