Pumpkin Chili

This is what fall is all about – chili and pumpkin things.

So why not throw them in the same pot and cook ’em?

I make good chili, always have.  It’s like a gift.

This is the best chili I’ve ever made. (to date)

All thanks to a can of pumpkin.

1 onion, diced

1 large sweet potato, diced

2 peppers, diced (I used one red, one orange)

2 cups chicken or vegetable broth

2 cans beans, drained (I used 1 kidney, 1 chili)

1 large can crushed tomatoes

1 small can pumpkin puree

2 cups water

1 tsp cumin

2 tbsp chili powder (I used a particularly smokey, spicy chili powder – if yours isn’t, consider adding a dash of cayenne for some heat)

1/2 tsp garlic

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp allspice

salt/pepper to taste

Start by sauteeing the onion and sweet potato until the onion is transluscent.  Add peppers and broth.  Cover and let simmer for a few moments to get up all the burnt stuff from the bottom of the pan.

Add everything else, stir, cover and simmer for 1 hour.

Taste and add salt and pepper if needed.  I added about a tsp of salt and a pinch of pepper.

Serve with warm cornbread.  Because this is what you do when you want to pretend it’s snowing outside (or if it’s really snowing.)

This is a slightly spicy, slightly sweet, thick, vegetarian chili.  And me loves it.

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chili

  1. Best chili I’ve ever eaten, and I’ve sampled some chili’s. I love that it was basically vegetarian (dependent on the broth you use), but you missed absolutely nothing when eating it. Rich, full bodied and comforting in an old fashioned way,but with that “hmmmmmmm this is not my mama’s chili” kinda feeling too.

    Way to go, Jaye!

Leave a Reply

