Thankful

This Thanksgiving is so special for me.   I’ve always loved this holiday.  This year I just feel so open, so happy, so fortunate

Hell's yes! You got me TURKEY PJs!

I am incredibly thankful for our darling Ariadne.  She is the greatest blessing.  I hardly had any idea what being a parent would be like.  The last year has been so full of anticipation of what was to come, and then new parenthood.  It has been wonderful.  All because of this little bundle of cells that I grew into a little girl.  I never knew someone could fill my heart so greatly.  But this little girl has.

I am thankful for The Hubs.  There are no words to describe how grateful I am to have a husband that is so selfless.  It is no easy walk in the park to take on the three full time jobs he has (SAHD, PhD and regular work) but he’s never faltered.  Even when he’s had a late night finishing up thesis work and climbed into bed just in time for Ariadne to wake up, he’s never let me take that nightly ritual alone.  He’s there every step of the way.  And even when I tell him to just sleep, because he needs it – his reply is always “and you need it too.  It’s not fair.  We’re in this together.”  Every late night, every middle of the night feed.  Every poopy diaper that I’ve shrieked at the sight of.  Every time I’ve silently begged for just a few Jaye minutes.  He is my rock.  He is the epitome of a supportive husband.  I truly couldn’t ask for a better spouse and father to my children.

I am thankful for my family and friends.  I am so lucky to be incredibly rich in this area.  It is amazing to know I have so many wonderful people to share my life with.  So many people who enrich my world, and who care to have me in their lives.  I value them more than I can express.

I am thankful for my career opportunities.  Six months ago I would complain endlessly about my lack of opportunities.  I found myself constantly wanting to make changes, but without the ability to do so.  This made work tiresome and difficult.  This year I’ve been reminded that sometimes, even when you think you’re never going to break out, the world will hand you something worth all of the anguish.  And for that, I am forever grateful.

There are so many more things I have to be thankful for this year.  And believe me, I am.

But let’s be serious here – you all know what the most important part of Turkey Day is!  I am so thankful for the huge feast of turkey and all the fixin’s that awaits me.

What's this you say about turkey boob milk??!

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

