A House of Sickies

This winter (I use the term “winter” lightly, as I realize that what we experience here in Arizona is not a real winter) has been brutal with illnesses.  It has seemed like everyone has been sick lately, and that the baby trifecta (ear infections, pink eye and colds) has been particularly rampant this year.  For awhile there it was looking like we were home free.

Then I got the plague cold.  Maybe you’ve heard of it (or been lucky enough to get it) – the cold that’s lasting 2-3 weeks on average.  The cold that has everyone running to the nearest doctor freaking out that they are dying because of yellow mucus.  The hacking cough that makes you sound like you have emphysema.

I know it well.

When I get sick, it’s usually a two day thing and I feel better.  Not this time though.  This time I had a sore throat and boatloads of mucus for 10 days.  Then a horrid cough for another 7 days.  I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t talk (for a few days thanks to losing my voice) and the only thing that kept me sane was popping cough drops 24/7 to take the edge off.

Let’s just say, being a breastfeeding mama ain’t easy come cold season.  You can’t take anything to get rid of the mucus because decongestants dry up your milk.  And you feel guilty as hell when you’re nursing your baby because you’re probably totally infecting her with this sucky virus.

Sure enough, as soon as I had a full day of feeling myself again…Aria started getting congested.  And fussy.  And waking up in the middle of the night (again) only to fuss and not sleep until the wee hours of the morning.   I feel so bad that I made her sick.  But I also know that nursing is one of the best things I can do for her so that she can fight off these stinking viruses.

So far The Hubs has been all clear.  Let’s hope it stays that way.

I’m blaming my lack of posting on this three week stint of sickness.  I just haven’t been up to writing, or filming (yeah…I still have a post to film, so far I have the reject takes…which you may be lucky enough to see one day) but hopefully I’ll be back up to it in a few days.

Lately we’ve just been doing a lot cuddling, relaxing…

and looking very serious.

 

2 thoughts on “A House of Sickies

  1. Sorry you’ve all been ill! It’s the pits, especially with a little infected one to care for.

    Over the holidays, my guy gave me a stomach bug. This resulted in me having to interrupt many a nursing session to run to the bathroom. We were both in tears multiple times then.

    Here’s to hoping for health and healing soon!

  2. I so hear you! I got sick on Boxing Day. Got it from Joe. I was so sick! Normally I’m like you; I go back to feeling great in a couple days. Well, I’m still hacking up mucous! I hope everyone with you gets better and stays that way

Leave a Reply

