Fall, Where are You?

Right around this time every year, I start yearning for Fall to arrive.  It always happens around my birthday (last week, in case you were wondering) when school has been back in session for a few weeks, The Hubs has started classes again (note: this is his last semester EVER of course work for his PhD, BOOM) and monsoon season is active – cooling down our temps by about a quarter of a degree, which kind of makes me hallucinate thinking that it’s already Fall.

I love Fall.

Fall? My Mama keeps talking about you, can you hurry up and arrive??

I miss how September in Canada meant Fall, whereas in Phoenix it really doesn’t happen until October.   So instead of being depressed that we have at least another month of >95degree temps, I’ve decided that this year I’m going to focus on how excited I am for it to come.

I can’t wait for cooler temps.

Practicing my gardening skills!

Ariadne adores the outdoors.  She literally grins from ear to ear as soon as we go outside.  We keep telling her that in a month we’ll be able to go to the park on the daily, go on picnics and take long afternoon walks.  She’s excited!

I love the Children’s Museum, but it would be nice to play outside!

I can’t wait for Halloween.

It’s one of our favourite Holidays over here.  Mainly because we have a long standing tradition of trick or treating/handing out candy at my cousin’s house.  Her street is a madhouse of kids/families and it is so fabulous.  This year we’ll be prancing Ariadne out with all of the kids to show off her costume.

I can’t wait for the running season.

See previous post.

I can’t wait for Ariadne to wear her Fall/Winter clothes.

I know, I say this every season.  But guys, I am stupid excited about her clothes this year.  I had a kick ass coupon for Gap Kids a few weeks ago (read: 40% off EVERYTHING) and I used it well.  Really well.  I love clearance shopping!  They’re her Big Girl clothes.  Her, We-Don’t-Shop-In-The-Baby-Section any more clothes, and they are awesome.   The drawer of waiting clothes taunts me every day.

I can’t wait for all of the babies.

So many of my friends are pregnant right now (or just gave birth – Welcome, Parker!) and although it’s giving me CRAZY baby fever, loving on newborns is a job I was born to do.  Plus, I get to attend my first birth (besides my own) in October (as long as my services are still needed, of course) which is just about the most exciting thing this side of Jupiter.

I can’t wait for salted caramel _________.  Everything.

So maybe that comes a little closer to Winter, but still.  It’s coming.  And I’m already pinning every last bit of salted caramel that I can find in preparation of the SC Season.  In preparation, I totally scored my first Salted Caramel Mocha of the season, this morning.

I can’t wait for Thanksgiving.  And Christmas!

Food.  Yum.  I think I’m hosting this year (is that cool, Mum?) and I’m already starting to think of the awesomeness of Turkey Day food.

And boy oh boy, Christmas this year.  I’m planning lots of crafting, decorating, singing, and plenty of time with friends/family.  The very most wonderful thing of all.

Summer, you’re okay I guess… I really appreciate how quickly you can dry my clothing…but can you get gone already??

3 thoughts on “Fall, Where are You?

  1. I can’t wait either! Well, except when the weather cools off my kid will be sick every other week for the next 6 months. 😦

    But I love Halloween too. My absolute favorite holiday. And my birthday is in Oct too. And then Cailin’s bday and xmas. Can’t wait!

  2. It’s almost fall here and the weather is beautiful. Just like our precious Ariadne and Mom. Man I miss you all. You cannot even imagine. Getting ready to decorate for harvest and Halloween here soon. I have to get ready for the Good Witch of East ya know. Meaning Coke! And since I am on the West, I am the Wicked Witch of the West. I can’t wait to see how Ariadne becomes Pebbles. Will Fred and Wilma be ready too? Ha Ha

Leave a Reply

