Vegan Oatmeal Pancakes + Applesauce

Sorry with the multiple cooking posts this week.  I’m really excited about tonights dinner so I wanted to discuss it!

This recipe is probably not perfect, but I really enjoyed it, and the hubs gave it a thumbs up.

The pancake recipe is a very cakey batter, so if you like super thin pancakes, this probably won’t be for you.   But I do suggest at least trying vegan pancakes since they are an awesome asset to any recipe repertoire.  Why?  Because they have very few ingredients, and those ingredients are easily found in just about any pantry.  Vegan recipes are also great for those lactose intolerant peeps like moi that need to soften the dairy blow to their intestines once in awhile.  They’re hugely filling, and packed with fiber as well – guaranteed to get those bowels moving (any other IBDers out there?).  These weren’t super sweet, so they definitely need a topping of some sort.

The applesauce is heaven on a spoon.  A little sweet, so I would cut down on the sugar next time.  An awesome topping for any pancake recipe.  I get bored of syrup so I tend to sub things like grape jelly, applesauce, ricotta chocolate spread…seriously, I get crazy with pancake toppings.

Cinnamon Applesauce

5 apples, peeled, cored and diced

1 cup water

1/4 raw cane sugar (I would cut this down to 2 TBSP and add additional if necessary next time)

1 TSP cinnamon

Heat over medium in covered saucepan for 20-30 minutes.  When apples are soft and liquid is reduced, put mixture in blender and pulse until chunky/smoothish.  Actually just go until you are happy with the consistency.

Vegan Oatmeal Pancakes

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup WW flour

2 TBSP raw cane sugar

4 TSP baking powder

1-2 TSP cinnamon (I did a full 2, and they were pretty cinnamony, I would consider only going with 1 next time)

2 1/2 cups vanilla almond milk

Combine all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl.  Add milk and beat until even consistency.  Drop the batter in scoops on your griddle.  I used a 1/2 cup measure and pushed down the batter to make a big pancake.  This is a thick batter, so you need to smoosh it a bit.   Cook until bubbles form and pancakes can be lifted off griddle to turn.  These work a little differently than regular pancakes.  They stick a little bit more to the griddle than usual, so you’ll need to be gentle with lifting them – but they do turn and brown beautifully.  Cook a few minutes on second side.

Try to remember that there aren’t any ingredients in these that need to cook, so you can’t under cook them.  Just watch until they are firm and serve immediately.

My batch made four large pancakes and five small – 9 total.

Top pancakes with applesauce and enjoy.

I loved our very sweet dinner 🙂

Leave a comment