Two Weeks!

I absolutely can’t believe our little girl is already two weeks old!

Time is just literally flying out the window.  I’m already in a tizzy over the fact that I’m going to have a toddler soon, and eventually…a…teenager!  Ahh!  This tiny little bundle of joy is going to grow up, and one day I’m going to be having the sex talk with her (actually, The Hubs and I have both already told her, she’s never to have sex) and watch her get married.  One day she’s going to have her own baby (that is, if she doesn’t remember these conversations.)

Oh god.

I swear, I’m trying to live in the moment.  It’s just so hard when the moments are gone before I even realize they were in front of me.

In just two weeks, Aria has already changed so much.  When she was born she looked so much like her Daddy, but everyday I think she is looking more and more like me.  I love to watch her features change and morph into what she’s going to look like as a child.   She is so beautiful.  So very beautiful.  I have to admit, when I was pregnant, I wondered if I would have an ugly baby.  I honestly don’t know what I was worried about.  She is spectacular.  I could just stare at her for lifetimes.

At two weeks old, BGF (formally known as BGWF since we decided to give her both of our last names) is 22 inches long (up 1.5inches from birth!) and 9lbs3oz – with diaper (up from birth weight of 8lbs1oz).  She was pretty jaundice since coming home from the hospital, but we’re finally seeing that clear up, and the pediatrician was very happy with her skin colouring today.

Everyday is full of life with her around.  I can’t even remember what it was like before she was here!

My perfect little angel!

In other semi-related news.  The obligatory post birth Momma picture – that is horridly out of focus, oh well.

It’s official.  There IS a positive side to Gestational Diabetes (as long as you manage it properly and have good docs watching over you and your baby!).  It’s called…

Weightloss.

So, in general, I’m not really one to walk around talking about my weight.  Honestly, it makes me a little uncomfortable.  But this is worthwhile to discuss because it’s actually pretty amazing.

I gained 12lbs during pregnancy.

I lost all of it within 24 hours

and lost 13 more within 72 hours of birth.

I busted my ass to stay healthy for Aria.  I ate ridiculously carefully for 3.5 months, and walked 560 miles during my pregnancy.  I gave up sweets, breads, chips, okay – mostly all starchy carbs, most fruit.  I didn’t get to enjoy pregnancy cravings.  I drank my weight in water everyday (since that was all I was allowed to drink).

AND it was so worth it.  Beyond having a perfect Baby Girl to bring home, I am so very proud of myself for sticking with the diet, and keeping up with the exercise until the day I was induced.

So there you go.  There was a silver lining.  I’m still bitter about it, because it was rough, but there is a silver lining.

I can’t believe two weeks has gone by.  It feels like all we do is stare at each other.

Boy, do I love staring at this piece of magic.

6 thoughts on “Two Weeks!

  1. Yes, I can see resemblence too. Great pictures! Want to see more. She must get those long lashes from Derek’s side though, they are insanely long for a baby girl.

  2. I completely know what you mean about just staring at each other all the time. Its funny, but so true! And holy guacamole, Jay Faye, you look SPECTACULAR! Like whoa spectacular. I want you to know that you have inspired me to eat right and exercise, not only now, but during my next pregnancy. Can we PLEASE get our little girls together soon? 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2012 in Review «

Leave a comment